GLUT and Windows 2000

I’m new to OpenGL and I am experiencing some problems.

I have created some OpenGL examples on an NT machine using MS Visual C++ and GLUT. However when I execute them on my Windows 2000 machine they bomb out.

I think it may be that the glut32.dll (GLUT 3.6) does not work with Windows 2000.

Does anyone know if there is a version of GLUT which will work on Windows 2000 platform? Can anybody offer any suggestions?

I have searched the SGI and other sites, but have not yet turned anything up.
I would really appreciate any help.

Many Thanks,

David

3.6 works fine on my video cards (G200 and Radeon). 3.7 causes problems with fullscreen mode.

Are you sure you’re using the correct import library for your version of the glut32.dll?

Paul.

Not sure.

I created the examples last week on a course, so I’m not sure which version we used.

I have downloaded GLUT 3.6, including libraries and header files. I have installed these etc…, but the exes still do not appear to work. I’ll download them again and re-install (may work). I think that GLUT library pulls in the Open GL libraries e.g. gl.h etc…

I have also noticed that sample OpenGL programs from Borland do not work either.

Any suggestions?

David

I am using glut 3.7.2 on my Windows 2000 box with a GeForce 2 and it works like a dream. I don’t know anything about Borland so I can’t really help there. Have you tried to get your debugger to isolate what command is causing the problem? Have you tried downloading a tried and true glut demo and running it? Go check out some of the demos at http://oglchallenge.otri.net/ . Look for ones that list glut.dll as a required external library.

Originally posted by david_callaghan:
[b]I’m new to OpenGL and I am experiencing some problems.

I have created some OpenGL examples on an NT machine using MS Visual C++ and GLUT. However when I execute them on my Windows 2000 machine they bomb out.