Draw a sphere in Gtk.GlArea using pyopengl

Hi,
I am very new to 3d-graphics. I do some work in Gtk3+ and python3. Now, I want to develop a code to show atoms inside Gtk.GlArea. But I cant find any way of doing that. Since I am using Gtk, I dont need GLUT, for which, there are few example.

So, here is my code so far. I will be really grateful if somebody shows me the way.

import gi
import sys
gi.require_version('Gtk', '3.0')
from gi.repository import Gtk, Gio, Gdk
import OpenGL
from OpenGL.GL import *
from OpenGL.GLU import *
from OpenGL.GLUT import *

class GridWindow(Gtk.ApplicationWindow):
  def __init__(self, app):
    Gtk.Window.__init__(self, application = app,
                        default_width=1000,
                        default_height=200,
                        border_width=2,
                        name = "MyWindow")

# Main drawing area
    self.area = DrawArea()
    self.area.set_size_request(1000,800)
    # To attach everything
    grid = Gtk.Grid()

grid.attach(self.area,1,0,1,1)
    self.add(grid)

class DrawArea(Gtk.GLArea):
    def __init__(self):
        Gtk.GLArea.__init__(self)
        self.connect("realize", self.on_realize)
        self.connect("render", self.render)

def on_realize(self, area):
        ctx = self.get_context()
        ctx.make_current()
        err = self.get_error()
        if err:
            print("The error is {}".format(err))

def render(self, area, ctx):
        glClearColor(1.0,.0,.0,1)
        glClear(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT|GL_DEPTH_BUFFER_BIT)

return True

class draw(Gtk.Application):
  def __init__(self):
    Gtk.Application.__init__(self)
  def do_activate(self):
    win = GridWindow(self)
    win.show_all()

app = draw()
exit_status = app.run(sys.argv)
sys.exit(exit_status)

Thanks.

Please tell which exact version of Gtk you are using and which graphic card you are using.
Depending on that, you might or not be able to use glu (which you seem to include).