(Beginner) Texture problem

Hello, I am a beginner OpenGL learner and I am trying to stick a texture onto my mesh. For some reason, every time my program gets to line “glTextureParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_WRAP_S, GL_REPEAT);” it crashes due to memory access violation. What is wrong with my code? Am I reading the file incorrectly? Thank you for any help you could give me.

texture.cpp

Texture::Texture(const std::string& filename)
{
	unsigned char* image = SOIL_load_image(filename.c_str(), &m_iWidth, &m_iHeight, 0, SOIL_LOAD_RGBA);

if (image == nullptr)
		std::cerr << "Texture loading failed. 
";

glGenTextures(1, &m_texture);
	glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, m_texture);

// Texture Wrapping 
	glTextureParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_WRAP_S, GL_REPEAT);
	glTextureParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_WRAP_T, GL_REPEAT);

// Texture Filtering 
	glTextureParameterf(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_MIN_FILTER, GL_LINEAR);
	glTextureParameterf(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_MAG_FILTER, GL_LINEAR);

glTexImage2D(GL_TEXTURE_2D, 0, GL_RGBA, m_iWidth, m_iHeight, 0, GL_RGBA, GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE, image); 

SOIL_free_image_data(image);
}

source.cpp

void render()
{
	glUseProgram(program);
	glClear(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT | GL_DEPTH_BUFFER_BIT);

Mesh mesh(vertices, sizeof(vertices) / sizeof(vertices[0]));
	Texture texture("Files/Sprites/Fireball.png"); // If I remove .png it then display "Texture loading failed"

texture.bind();
	mesh.Draw();

glutSwapBuffers();
}

thats 1 reason to remove opengl code out of the constructor and put it in a “initialize()” function. its very likely that at the time the “Texture” class constructor is invoked, you didnt initialize the opengl loader library (for example GLEW)

the opengl functions like “glTextureParameteri()” are actually function pointers, and are initially null / undefined, you have to query the address of that function before calling it (by initializing GLEW / other loader libraries)