OpenGL VAO VBO EBO explained

Hello.
I’m new to opengl, and graphics programming too.
I have an idea (and some tris drawned at practice) on how opengl drawing stuff. The following questions have arisen in the course of training.

Suppose my final scene should contain dozens of dynamic animated sprites and static backgrounds. What is in this case the sequence of creation VertexArrays and filling it?
Lets assume i have Sprite class that basically draws simple textured quad, that can be animated and can translate on the scene. And in my scene i have N of them.

1. Should i have only one VAO (VBO?) with 4 vectors in it (trow away colors and textCoords for a moment), and draw that array (with each Sprite transformations) N times, where N is amount of Sprites in the scene?

2. What if i have many different types of Sprites, that can be not only quads?

Thanks for advice!
PS Sory for bad english!

There’s what’s possible, and then what subset of that is fast. Are you asking about what permutations are likely to perform better than others?

It sounds like before you consider either, you need to learn what the relevant object types are. Recommended reading:

VBOs are buffers that contain vertex attribute and index data (the latter is sometimes called element data). VAOs are nothing more than wrappers (think structs) of draw call setup parameters – e.g. pointers to VBOs and such. VAOs can speed things up when you need to render the same draw calls with the same parameters (aka batches) multiple times, because they save you from needing to re-specify everything again on the 2nd and subsequent renders.