PDA

View Full Version : Reverse face changes colour when using LightModelTwoSide (OpenTK)

wotnot
02-21-2016, 10:16 AM
I hope somebody may be able to help me troubleshoot a problem with a relatively simple bit of OpenTK code. (There is an OpenTK forum, but judging by the fact that the most recent posts were > 5 weeks ago and are mostly spam, it looks dead - hence I am asking it here. The problem is not necessarily OpenTK-specific.)

I have translated some OpenGL code that I wrote years ago from VB6 to C# using the OpenTK library. This has basically been a learning exercise because I am fairly new to C#. The OpenGL methods that I have used are old-school deprecated ones, rather than shaders. The object of the exercise was more about C# than OpenGL/OpenTK - I'm not out to change the code more than necessary.

The code draws a 3D model, with ambient lighting, and moves it around. The user can click and drag to spin it around the vertical axis. This works, probably as well as it ever did in the VB version. I am fairly happy with it and have learnt the basics of C# in the process.

There is only one real problem with it that I can see, which relates to the reverse side of polygons. The majority of the polygons that make up the model are only seen from one side, since it is mostly a convex/continuous surface. However, there are a few red polygons which have both sides visible. By default - if I do nothing - the reverse side is always dark. This is as expected. To address this I added the following at the end of my 'InitLighting' method, which defines the lighting parameters:

GL.LightModel(LightModelParameter.LightModelTwoSid e,1);