How do I rotate an object on it's own axes after I already did a view transformation?

Hello everyone!

I’m not an absolute beginner to C/C++ & OpenGL and I understand the basics of matrix multiplication and trigonometry but I seem to be stumped on something that I thought would be simple to figure out with regard to rotations and translations. Especially with a powerful GL like OpenGL.

I’ve read and done the exercises that teach the principle in OpenGL that you have to position your camera first and then plot the rest of your objects by rotating them first before translating them if you just want them to spin to face a certain direction. And you translate the object first and then do a rotation if you want them to orbit around the origin. The solar system exercises of a Sun, Moon and Earth in a couple of my books explained that really well.

I’m able to create a first person view by doing all the necessary axis-angle rotations through matrix multiplication, then I do the translation of where my view is located. I pull the look vector, up vector and right vector to know where to translate my view next and that all works fine.

The problem is that after I do the rotations and transform for my first-person camera view (which is what OpenGL instructions say comes first: the view transformations), I can’t make any other objects I want to place in my world rotate on their own axes. I have tried to find information and do searches all over the place, and other than people saying to “use gluLookAt” to solve the problem, I haven’t found anything to solve this issue. gluLookAt seems to be a special function but it wasn’t designed to be used as a real-time first-person camera for a game. At least that’s what I’ve seen written.