Defer Rendering - Framebuffer w/ Renderbuffer (Help Optimizing)

I’m fairly new to Framebuffer/renderbuffers but basically I have deferred rendering working-ish. But my implementation uses the framebuffers in conjunction with a renderbuffer which I’ve had a hard time with.

I currently have it where I draw the meshes into the GBuffer, then send the textures through to do all my lighting which outputs to the offscreen buffer and finally gets blitted to the screen. However this isn’t optimal as positions can be represented as just the depth information? but I haven’t a clue with my current setup (or whether it’s possible?).

Here’s my buffer(s) creation:

void CoolFunc (int width, int height)
{
#pragma region GBuffer
	glBindTexture (GL_TEXTURE_2D, m_gtextures[GBufferID::POSITIONS]);
	glTexImage2D (GL_TEXTURE_2D, 0, GL_RGB32F, width, height, 0, GL_RGB, GL_FLOAT, nullptr);
	glBindTexture (GL_TEXTURE_2D, 0);

glBindTexture (GL_TEXTURE_2D, m_gtextures[GBufferID::NORMALS]);
	glTexImage2D (GL_TEXTURE_2D, 0, GL_RGB32F, width, height, 0, GL_RGB, GL_FLOAT, nullptr);

glBindRenderbuffer (GL_RENDERBUFFER, m_gBufferRBO);
	glRenderbufferStorage (GL_RENDERBUFFER, GL_DEPTH24_STENCIL8, width, height);
	glBindRenderbuffer (GL_RENDERBUFFER, 0);

glBindFramebuffer (GL_FRAMEBUFFER, m_gBufferFBO);
	glFramebufferRenderbuffer (GL_FRAMEBUFFER, GL_DEPTH_STENCIL_ATTACHMENT, GL_RENDERBUFFER, m_gBufferRBO);
	glFramebufferTexture2D (GL_FRAMEBUFFER, GL_COLOR_ATTACHMENT0, GL_TEXTURE_2D, m_gtextures[GBufferID::POSITIONS], 0);
	glFramebufferTexture2D (GL_FRAMEBUFFER, GL_COLOR_ATTACHMENT1, GL_TEXTURE_2D, m_gtextures[GBufferID::NORMALS], 0);

assert (glCheckFramebufferStatus (GL_FRAMEBUFFER) == GL_FRAMEBUFFER_COMPLETE);

const std::vector<GLenum> gbufferAttachments { GL_COLOR_ATTACHMENT0, GL_COLOR_ATTACHMENT1 };
	glDrawBuffers (gbufferAttachments.size(), &gbufferAttachments[0]);

glBindFramebuffer (GL_FRAMEBUFFER, 0);
#pragma endregion
#pragma region LBuffer
	glBindTexture (GL_TEXTURE_2D, m_ltextures);