3D Satellite Tracker Using C# WFA

Greetings all.
I am a beginner with OpenGL, so I will very much appreciate some help

I was asked to develop 3D Satellite Tracker in C# WFA like NASA’s iSat : Interactive Satellite Tracker | Science Mission Directorate ,I tried OpenGL once in college in c++ and all I did was drawing square, triangle. I tried to modify this Project : 3D Solar System with OpenGL and C# - CodeProject ,but the guy is so expert with OpenGl I could’t understand most of his work. I know for now that I will need to draw space(black screen and White dots), earth (sphere with texture), the Satellite which i have no idea at all how to do it and its Orbit. The satellite will be moving according to something called Two-Line element ( a data format encoding a list of orbital elements of an Earth-orbiting object for a given point in time). Can anyone help me with ideas how to do it,plus if you know any C# OpenGL tutorials cuz i couldn’t find one.

Thank you very much and kind regards,

I’ve written satellite orbit simulations in OpenGL and C/C++. How much time were you given to do this? It’s not a trivial task. I went to the NASA web page. It’s a cute demo - very interactive. The good news for you is that the graphics is very basic. Note that the satellite models are not 3D. They are all done with the same image or sprite. So maybe you don’t have to worry satellite models and satellite attitude?

Propagating the satellites from TLE’s would take me more time to develop than doing the graphics. In my sims, a previously developed orbit mechanics library is used to propagate the satellites. Is such a library available to you? Look for one where you work or on the internet. It must be linkable with C#. The NeHe Tutorials (nehe.gamedev.net) website has some examples of simple OpenGL programs written in C#.

I’m not familiar with C#. Is it possible that an orbit mechanics library written in C could be linked to a C# program?