How to detect inner and outer faces of a hollow/open 3d object

Hey guys,
I am new to opengl.I have written a basic program to draw a pyramid.And I have used the “zoom-pick-rotate” library from the net to,well,zoom,rotate and pick the sides of the object.But the problem is it helps me only to identify sides,but I want to differentiate between inner and outer surfaces.I currently have no clue how to do that.Help me out guys,

[QUOTE=avpai1992;1279693]Hey guys,
I am new to opengl.I have written a basic program to draw a pyramid.And I have used the “zoom-pick-rotate” library from the net to,well,zoom,rotate and pick the sides of the object.But the problem is it helps me only to identify sides,but I want to differentiate between inner and outer surfaces.I currently have no clue how to do that.[/QUOTE]

It’s not clear what you’re asking here.

An open surface (a surface for which one or more edges belong only to one face, rather than having a face on either side) doesn’t have an “inside” or “outside”.

A closed surface (where every edge of a face is shared with another face) has an inside and an outside (unless it self-intersects, which is a problem all to itself). You can determine whether a point is inside or outside by counting the number of faces which intersect a ray between that point and any point which is known to be outside the surface (e.g. some point outside the surface’s bounding box or convex hull). You can determine which side of a face is inside or outside similarly; by counting the number of intersections with a ray emanating from the face and also considering whether the dot product between the ray’s direction and the face normal is positive or negative.