Points with color

Hello

I’m new on this forum so if this subject was here before I need to say sorry.

I’m new in OpenGL and still lerning this technology. I have an array of array of points. Each point has it coordinates (X,Y,Z) and color. I writing my application in delphi so sample code will be in delphi (but You can send codes in other languages). I have such code:
glBegin(GL_LINE_STRIP)
for I := 0 to High(Stars) - 1 do //stars is my array of array of points
begin
for j := 0 to High(stars[i]) - 1 do
begin
glColor3ub(stars[i,j].R,stars[i,j].g, stars[i,j].b);
glVertex3i(stars[i,j].x,stars[i,j].y, stars[i,j].distance);
end;
glEnd;
end;

And when zoom is not to big it show me what I need (some kind of map) but when zoom is big it show me only color points on white scene. Is there any tool in OpenGL that will connect points with colors? I would like to have area between points connected by color of each point?

If I understand your question correctly, you’re going to have to use glBegin(GL_TRIANGLES), not glBegin(GL_LINE_STRIP), to get the effect you want. OpenGL will interpolate color across the inside of a triangle based on the vertex colors. This means you are going to have to ‘triangulate’ your point set which is not a trivial process. See ‘Delauney Triangulation’ for example.

See this link: nehe Tutorial - ‘Adding Color’

Good luck.

It is not as that simple. There are 4 screenshots in attatch. First is with glBegin(GL_POINTS) second is with glBegin(GL_POINTS) but in big zoom. When I change it on triangles that as You told me to it is worst then in GL_LINES or GL_LINE_STRIP.

It’s not simply a matter of changing the mode. You’ll need to build the topology and use glDrawElements().

That I was think so. Can You show me some example base on my code from first post?