Multi Screen Application with GLFW

Hello,

I’m working with GLFW. I want to set up an app dealing with multiple screens, i.e 6, connected to a single graphics card. I have found out that GLFW can’t specify the display i want to use with some command like “-display :0.1” (https://github.com/glfw/glfw/issues/29). Since GLX can do that and GLFW is using GLX, i’m wondering if one could easily modify GLFW, so one have access to this option.

Since i’m new in this field there might also be a simple workaround, which i couldn’t find yet.

At first i considered using glfwgetmonitors to obtain the different screens, but this function only finds the primary screen. (GLFW has a working tests program called monitors, which outputs all connected monitors with some related data, but it finds only one monitor while 6 are connected). This might be caused because all the screens are in the same graphics card. Is there a way to modify, maybe, the xorg.conf file so that the system knows about the different screens? (I have Ubuntu 14.04) At the moment all the screens in the xorg.conf are adressed to the PCI bus 3:0:0.

Please give me some thoughts on either of these options, thanks

I have been using GLFW 3.0 and glfwGetMonitors(…) returns all the monitors I have connected (2 in my case) in a single GPU. If you start your program as console application you can first get the monitors and have the user decide which monitor to use by printing all the necessary information for the user. After you get the input just use that monitor in the window creation parts of your program.

Well, the problem is, that GLFW only finds one monitor (the primary) and not all 6, so i have no possibility to choose…

What does

int count;
GLFWmonitor** monitors = glfwGetMonitors(&count)

give you for the count variable’s value?

I loop the monitors like this

int count;
        GLFWmonitor** monitors = glfwGetMonitors(&count);
        for(int i = 0; i<count; i++)
        {