How to begin with openGL with no previous API background?

So, I recently have been introduced to APIs and the first one is this OPENGL. It is very difficult to collect info and get started immediately. Also each tutorial just begins with an example and its very difficult to get along. Found a few references on the internet and I am not sure should I go on with it or not.

So here’s the real question: How to begin with opengl so as to grasp everything clearly? I am a good programmer but have never worked with any APIs at all. I just worked with basic programming libraries. I am a total noob with graphics as well.:doh:

If you’ve worked with basic programming libraries, then you’ve used APIs – the APIs those libraries present.

Before we address how do you learn OpenGL, let’s instead ask what do you want to “do” with OpenGL? That’s going to drive the answer to your question.

[QUOTE=Dark Photon;1272354]If you’ve worked with basic programming libraries, then you’ve used APIs – the APIs those libraries present.

Before we address how do you learn OpenGL, let’s instead ask what do you want to “do” with OpenGL? That’s going to drive the answer to your question.[/QUOTE]

I would like to render graphics for games basically and if anything else interesting comes up along the way then that as well.

Right now the basic line drawing algorithms(DDA and Bresenham’s) are not comprehensible for me. This is where I would like to begin. The very basic of the implementations.

This may be bad advice, but from one beginner to another, you may want to hold off on OpenGL till you feel you have a solid grasp on graphics fundamentals. When I say that I don’t necessarily mean things like Bresenham’s algorithm, but I do mean things like homogeneous transforms, perspective and orthographic projection, texture maps, barycentric coords, etc.