Hello, I'm new to OpenGL

Hello, I’m new here, I’m a student and I’ve just getting started with C++. I’m very interested in game development, and I will take this very seriously if needed; OpenGL is already installed on my GPU (Sapphire ATI X1550) under the 2.1 version and it’s easy to start a blank project in CodeBlocks. I’ve seen that users on this forum are very serious, professional and active; I usually introduce myself by posting on each forum I’m signed up to, and, please don’t take this as a sign of immaturity.
OpenGL is affirmed by Valve to be faster than DX, and it’s cross-platform, so Windows games can be compiled on Linux, Mac and for PlayStation too.
I’ve some question about this library and I hope you will help me to get started:

• OpenGL is a rendering API. Can I use OpenGL for GUI, text rendering, and do “level editing” via C++ without a visual level editor?
    Or, is OpenGL a tool that you can only use to create a game engine, which is a different thing?
  • Is it backward compatible?
  • OpenGL is developed by Khronos, a non profit company: should I donate? I know that game development is a business that touchs billions of dollars; and I don’t know if this company if founded, if not, I would like to give my part as sign of thanksgiving.
    Thank you for your answers.
    Sabino.

OpenGL is affirmed by Valve to be faster than DX, and it’s cross-platform, so Windows games can be compiled on Linux, Mac and for PlayStation too.

OpenGL is not available for PlayStation. At best, an implementation of OpenGL ES is available, but pretty much nobody uses it.

I’ve some question about this library

It’s not a library.

I hope you will help me to get started

See that button in the top row that says “OpenGL: Getting Stated”? You press that to get started.

• Is it backward compatible?

With what?

• OpenGL is developed by Khronos, a non profit company: should I donate?

No; they’re doing fine financially thanks to their membership fees.

Okay. Sorry.