PDA

View Full Version : Store a 2D texture to file

ionas_
02-26-2015, 02:20 AM
I am working on a project where i am working on the parameterization of a mesh as a 2D array. Anyway, at this point i had to switch to OpenGL and as i am new to it i would like to ask how i can save textures created as an image (*.bmp, *.jpg e.t.c.).

unsigned int uiTex[2];
int iNRes=1024;
int res =1024;
glGenTextures(2, uiTex);
glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, uiTex[0]);
glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_MIN_FILTER, GL_NEAREST);
glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_MAG_FILTER, GL_NEAREST);
glTexImage2D(GL_TEXTURE_2D, 0, GL_RGBA32F, res, res, 0, GL_RGBA, GL_FLOAT, NULL);
glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, uiTex[1]);
glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_MIN_FILTER, GL_LINEAR);
glTexImage2D(GL_TEXTURE_2D, 0, GL_RGB, iNRes, iNRes, 0, GL_RGB, GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE, NULL);

......(here is the part where the image is created)

An example of saving the created texture to a bmp file would help me a lot!

mhagain
02-26-2015, 04:42 AM
glGetTexImage (https://www.opengl.org/sdk/docs/man3/xhtml/glGetTexImage.xml) will get you the texture data which you can then save out; I suggest using TGA instead of BMP or JPG because the returned pointer from glGetTexImage can be written immediately after the TGA header without any further processing.

ionas_
02-26-2015, 06:13 AM
Thanks for the quick reply. Having the pointer from the function glGetTexImage, how can i save the image in the format you mentioned?

unsigned int uiTex[2];
int iNRes=1024;
int res =1024;
glGenTextures(2, uiTex);
glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, uiTex[0]);
glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_MIN_FILTER, GL_NEAREST);
glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_MAG_FILTER, GL_NEAREST);
glTexImage2D(GL_TEXTURE_2D, 0, GL_RGBA32F, res, res, 0, GL_RGBA, GL_FLOAT, NULL);
glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, uiTex[1]);
glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_MIN_FILTER, GL_LINEAR);