OGL noob question - Writing a line upon a line, avoiding conflict

Hi all,

I’m writing a 3D path following algorithm. The path is made of up of a few hundred points. Initially, the path is plotted using OGL GL_LINE_STRIP in a light grey colour. This works just fine:

glLineWidth(2.0);
glBegin(GL_LINE_STRIP);
glColor4f(0.75, 0.75, 0.75, 1.0);
for (n = 0; n < 256; n++)
glVertex3f(wp[n].v.y, -wp[n].v.z, -wp[n].v.x);
glEnd();

This done, I want now to highlight a single segment of this path using a different colour, say in orange, so I do something like:

glLineWidth(2.0);
glBegin(GL_LINES);
glColor4f(1.0, 0.5, 0.0, 1.0);
glVertex3f(wp[79].v.y, -wp[79].v.z, -wp[79].v.x);
glVertex3f(wp[80].v.y, -wp[80].v.z, -wp[80].v.x);
glEnd();

The problem is there’s now a conflict, so the segment kinda flashes between the two colours. Please tell me there’s a simple way to solve this problem! Please explain in basic terms because I am a real noob.

Many thanks and best regards,

Anthony (Prospero)

Do you use depth buffering?
If yes, your problem may be related to z-fighting where you draw two pices of geometry with the same z-component and due to
rounding errors, some pixels will be considered on top and some below which might change inbetween frames.

If not, do you always draw the orange line at the end or does that vary?

Do the original and the new line segents flicker betwen the two colors, or the line segment and other line segments?

On a side note, why do you pass the the vertices in a flipped manner, i.e. x=Y, y=Z andd z=X?

Hi Agent D,

Remember, I’m a dumb noob. Can I ask you a couple of questions / make a few comments?

1. I always draw the orange segment line LAST, having already drawn the grey multipoint line.

2. What is the command to enable / disable depth buffering? I would like to try this and see if it helps.

3. You ask, ‘Do the original and the new line segments flicker betwen the two colors, or the line segment and other line segments?’ My answer is BOTH.