Implement Water Ripple effect

I am doing my master’s thesis and have chosen to implement water ripple effect. The best example of what I am trying to achieve is: WebGL Water
This demo encompasses several effects as denoted by the author:

[ul]
[li]Raytraced reflections and refractions
[/li][li]Analytic ambient occlusion
[/li][li]Heightfield water simulation
[/li][li]Soft shadows
[/li][li]Caustics
[/li][/ul]

Currently, I want to implement the “Heightfield water simulation”. I’ve found lots of articles and discussions (cannot post them due to a restriction on the number of links that a forum topic could contain) but cannot see the most right way to implement it. Saw several physics formulas - model the water surface as an elastic membrane with low stiffness or use Navier-Stokes еquations. Most of the tutorials speak how to simulate arbitrarily moving water but not water ripples.
Could you point me to the most correct maths/physics and OpenGL practices for simulating water ripples?

Did you already take a look at this? It discusses a simple pseudo code implementation of height map based water surfaces.

Yes, it was the first thing to read. But as you start reading it you find the following:

Initialize u[i,j] with interesting function

First question: what is this? Is it to fill a map with arbitrary height values, so that I have initial non-calm water which I later on modify by:

v[i,j] +=(u[i-1,j] + u[i+1,j] + u[i,j-1] + u[i,j+1])/4 – u[i,j]

Which means - add the average sum of all surrounding pixels, or vertices, and then subtract that of the center one. So, they probably initialize the mesh vertices’ heights using the “interesting function” and they later on modify the already initialized vertices’ heights. This leads to simulating water, not simulating water ripple. That is why I wrote:

Most of the tutorials speak how to simulate arbitrarily moving water but not water ripples.