Create a emitting plane using shader

I’m a newbie in the OpenGL ES world, and learning some basics on 3d graphics on Android OpenGL ES. I’m wondering how to create a image plane that emitting light? This is easy to be implemented in 3d model software like Blender (using the Cycles Render), see the image below for effects I’m looking for. Through some research, I learnt that they may be related to Blur or Bloom effect using shader. Any help is appreciated!
[ATTACH=CONFIG]802[/ATTACH]

I’ve seen hacks that try to implement area lights with a constant color, where first the closest point on the light rectangle is determined and then phong lighting is computed.
It looks nice, but it’s nowhere near phyiscally acurrate.

Since every infinitesimally small point on the plane contributes light to a point on a surface, you would actually have to compute an integral
over the area, or the projected solid angle.
This also means that if you want shadows from area lights, it will get quite problematic. While some points on the light surface can not directly “see” a point on some
surface (i.e. it is in shadow for those parts of the area light), other points can and you get very smooth, fuzzy shadows.

Some approaches to solve this use shadow mapping by generating a series of shadow maps for different parts of the light surface.

You probably noticed that your modeling program takes quite some time to compute the frames, whereas OpenGL(R) programs typically pump out lots of frames per second.
Those modeling programs usually use different rendering and lighting algorithms (ray tracing, path tracing, radiosity, etc…) that generate physically acurate results, have no
problems with area lights but take a lot of time to compute.

There are some voxel based, real-time global illumination techniques that can cope with area lights (e.g. casceded light propagation volumes and voxel cone tracing) but I’m
not sure how well those are suited for embedded systems at the time being.