Newbie shading question.

Hello all! I am new to OpenGL and I’m having a small problem that I can’t seem to find the answer to. I can actually live with it if there is no fix but it would be nice to have it display correctly. I hope it it something simple that I’m doing wrong. I’m using SDL with OpenGL and am writing a 2d tile engine. My init code is:

SDL_Init(SDL_INIT_EVERYTHING);
SDL_GL_SetAttribute(SDL_GL_RED_SIZE, 8);
SDL_GL_SetAttribute(SDL_GL_GREEN_SIZE, 8);
SDL_GL_SetAttribute(SDL_GL_BLUE_SIZE, 8);
SDL_GL_SetAttribute(SDL_GL_ALPHA_SIZE, 8);
SDL_GL_SetAttribute(SDL_GL_BUFFER_SIZE, 32);
SDL_GL_SetAttribute(SDL_GL_DEPTH_SIZE, 16);
SDL_GL_SetAttribute(SDL_GL_DOUBLEBUFFER, 1);

SDL_WM_SetCaption("build1", NULL);
SDL_SetVideoMode(winwidth,winheight,32, SDL_OPENGL);

glViewport(0,0,winwidth,winheight);
 glShadeModel(GL_SMOOTH);
 glMatrixMode(GL_MODELVIEW);
 glEnable (GL_BLEND); //enable blending
 glBlendFunc (GL_SRC_ALPHA, GL_ONE_MINUS_SRC_ALPHA);
 glDisable(GL_DEPTH_TEST);

My sight area function is working correctly, but I can’t seem to get the shading worked out. Use the picture below for reference.

(unable to post an image :frowning: “Post denied. New posts are limited by number of URLs it may contain and checked if it doesn’t contain forbidden words.”) image at: draksplace dot com/openglimage.png

The blue squares are actually textures, (I just made blue images instead of the actual image to make it easier to see). They would be considered a wall. The black areas are either the floor, (which I turned off for now) or areas that can not be seen. The green and red dots are the corners of each quad. Each dot is accessed by four different quads and carries the rgba value for that corner of the quad. The quads are drawn using this similar code:

1:      glEnable(GL_TEXTURE_2D);
         glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, mytexture);
         glBegin(GL_QUADS);

2:        glColor4ub(dot[loc].cr , dot[loc].cg , dot[loc].cb , dot[loc].ca);