PDA

View Full Version : gl_PointCoord problem

Aliii
11-26-2013, 01:30 PM
gl_PointCoord is not working(always returns 0). If I use GL_POINT_SPRITE, it works, however that was removed in GL 3.2, ...and Im using 3.3 now.
So it works, but I have to use something that was removed in the GL version Im developing with. Is this my drivers bug, or do I misunderstand something? Can I expect consistent behavior on other GPUs and drivers with this "hack"?
(My GPU is GeForce 8800 GT)

sektion31
11-27-2013, 09:22 AM
Hi
I had the same issue with 4.3 (on Nvidia 630M), but I am using openGL trough JOGL. So I asked there if it was a bug, but they said its all fine.
So I think this behavoir is normal and will stay the same for future versions. On the other hand: Don't trust me, because I am a total noob, just started learing openGL. ;)

Aliii
11-27-2013, 10:35 AM
Hi
I had the same issue with 4.3 (on Nvidia 630M), but I am using openGL trough JOGL. So I asked there if it was a bug, but they said its all fine.
So I think this behavoir is normal and will stay the same for future versions. On the other hand: Don't trust me, because I am a total noob, just started learing openGL. ;)

OK:) Thanks anyway!

malexander
11-27-2013, 12:29 PM
If you're using the Compatibility profile, GL_POINT_SPRITE still exists and must be explicitly enabled. GL_POINT_SPRITE is only removed in the Core profile, and gl_PointCoord should always be producing proper coordinates in Core.

Aleksandar
11-27-2013, 12:30 PM
gl_PointCoord is not working(always returns 0). If I use GL_POINT_SPRITE, it works, however that was removed in GL 3.2, ...and Im using 3.3 now.
What is removed? Point sprites? Certainly not! Just glEnable(GL_POINT_SPRITE) is removed since it is always on in post GL 3.2 versions.

Non-sprite points - Enable/Disable targets POINT_SMOOTH and POINT_SPRITE, and all associated state. Point rasterization is always performed as though POINT_SPRITE were enabled.