Using gl_InstanceID weird issue

hey, although i have some experience with modern opengl, i haven’t dealt with GS and instancing much.
what i’m trying to achieve is to render to 3-dimensional FBO using glDrawElementsInstanced and gl_InstanceID;

and i’ve encountered a problem writing geometry shader for that purpose. if i have basic passthrought geometry shader - everything is fine, objects do render(tested it with normal rendering, without 3d-texture FBO). but if anywhere in the code i mention gl_InstanceID - all glGetUniformLocation and glGetAttribLocation calls for that program fail with GL_INVALID_OPERATION(it’s “program has not been successfully linked”, because i do check with glIsProgram and it returns “true”). however i am calling glGetError after glLinkProgram and it returns 0. and compile logs are empty. if i write something intentionally erroneous inside GS like “asdasfas” - i get proper compile log with error. but if i use gl_InstanceID - it just silently fails.

example of failing code:

#version 330

layout(triangles) in;
layout(triangle_strip, max_vertices = 3) out;

void main() {
    gl_Layer = gl_InstanceID; //if i remove that line - it works

for(int i = 0; i < 3; i++) {
        gl_Position = gl_in[i].gl_Position;
        EmitVertex();
    }
    EndPrimitive();
}

Edit: ok, i found out i didn’t check GL_LINK_STATUS after linking, only glGetError. and it, indeed, fails to link. but i have no idea why yet.

According to the GLSL Spec, there is no built-in gl_InstanceID in the geometry language. I guess you need to pass it from the vertex shader - should yield a compile-time error, however. Does that make sense? Obviously it did to the ARB.