Texture mipmapping issue

Hi
I’ve got some experience with old fashioned OpenGL (with glBegin etc) and I’m trying to learn the newer versions. I’m trying to render a texture and failing. I have all my shaders, VAOs and texture loading libraries etc in place and working, but binding and drawing the texture is really fiddly. The following code for the binding works, sort of:

glGenTextures(1,&id);
glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D,id);
glTexImage2D(GL_TEXTURE_2D,0,GL_RGBA,res.x,res.y,0,GL_RGBA,GL_FLOAT,pix);
glGenerateMipmap(GL_TEXTURE_2D);

But it causes memory leaks. When I create and destroy many of these textures, the memory usage explodes. Commenting out this line fixes the memory leak:

glGenTextures(1,&id);
glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D,id);
glTexImage2D(GL_TEXTURE_2D,0,GL_RGBA,res.x,res.y,0,GL_RGBA,GL_FLOAT,pix);
//glGenerateMipmap(GL_TEXTURE_2D);

But now it doesn’t draw at all (or it draws a transparent texture instead). It shouldn’t need a mipmap, should it?
Also, it seems that the memory leak doesn’t appear for texture sizes below a certain threshold. A 256x256 texture works perfectly, with no leaks, but a 256x257 texture leaks like crazy!
Should I be deleting the mipmaps when I call glDeleteTextures(1,&id); or something?
I’ve been working on this one issue all day, and I’m at the point where I’m tempted to accept the memory leak. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Hello,

glDeleteTextures(1,&id) should be all you need for deleting the mipmaps. You see a black texture when you don’t create mipmaps because your texture filtering is mipmapped by default and without mipmaps your texture is incomplete and all texture() calls in your shader will return 0. Check http://www.opengl.org/sdk/docs/man/xhtml/glTexParameter.xml to see how to disable mipmapping.
But back to the problem: I don’t see why it should leak…

Hi sandman,
Are your deallocating the pixel data (pix) after you have passed it to gltexImage2D function? That might be one reason for memory leak.