Help Using TexSubImage2d

Hey guys,

I’m kind of new to openGL programming, but what I have so far is a room I can walk around with some tiled textures on the walls and floor.

What I want to do is to have a painting on the wall, and would prefer to do that by overlapping a texture across the tiled brick, so I can manipulate room size independently from the size of the painting.

I am fairly sure that TexSubImage2D is the function I want to use to achieve this, but I am having trouble finding some usage examples for it. From what I have read, I gather that it is very similar to TexImage2D, in that it will assign a texture image to a texture object that is already bound. I assume that to use TexSubImage I would do the same thing. Here is some code I wrote for texture assignment (note that it is in MATLAB, not C++)

%% TEXTURE MAPPING
% Enable texture mapping
glEnable(GL_TEXTURE_2D);
%glShadeModel(GL_SMOOTH);

% Assign formatted images to image index
imIndex = {permute(uint8(imread('brick.jpeg')), [3 2 1]), ...
    permute(uint8(imread('painting1.jpg')), [3 2 1]), ...
    permute(uint8(imread('painting2.jpg')), [3 2 1]), ...
    permute(uint8(imread('carpet.jpg')), [3 2 1])};

% Generate a texture "object"
texname = glGenTextures(length(imIndex));

% Bind texture object to images from index
for i = 1:length(imIndex)
    glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, texname(i));

%Specify the image texture
    tmp = size(imIndex{i});
    glTexImage2D(GL_TEXTURE_2D, 0, GL_RGB, tmp(2), tmp(3), 0, GL_RGB, GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE, imIndex{i});

% Texture wrapping
    glTexParameterfv(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_WRAP_S, GL_REPEAT);
    glTexParameterfv(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_WRAP_T, GL_REPEAT);

% Setup filtering
    glTexParameterfv(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_MIN_FILTER, GL_NEAREST);
    glTexParameterfv(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_MAG_FILTER, GL_NEAREST);

% Specify a texture application function (this will control how light
    % reflects off the texture