Problems with (newtonian) movement

Hallo all,

I’m new to OpenGL and I’m experimenting around a bit. So far everything went nice but now I’m stuck with a problem that’s probably easy to solve but I’m just not getting it.
Currently I’m having a little object that can be steered with keyboard keys. When the up or down key is pressed the object accelerates and when left and right arrow keys are pressed the object gets rotated. So far so good but I wanted to change the movement behaviour in a more newtonian direction. When the object gets accelerated it contains it’s movement speed and direction. I’m having projection, view and model matrices in my project. When I use translate and rotate my object this also changes the movement direction. To move the object I translate my model matrix with the movement vector, containing the movement speed in the y-axis. In the vertex shader the projection, view and model matrices get multiplied.
What would be the best way to implement a movement like this? I just can’t figure it out.

Greetings
Skalli

A good introduction for particles and rigid body simulation is the lecture note of David Baraff and Andrew Witkin . For a newtonian simulation, mathematical knowledge to solve basic differential equation of the form mf’‘(t) + cf’(t) + kf(t) = F numerically is a must (Second order linear differential equation with constant coefficients) . The easiest but less accurate method to solve this equation numerically is the Euler method. My advice is to start learning physic simulation with particles because rigid body simulation are more complicated (inertia tensor,angular momentum). With particle you only need to store the position(x,y,z), the velocity (x,y,z), the sum of all forces F (x,y,z) acting on the particle and the mass (scalar).

So for each time step you compute with Euler method

struct Particle
{
  glm::vec3 position,velocity;
  float mass;
};
//Set initial position and velocity of the particle
delta_t = 1.0f/60.0f;