Apply texture to only part of a sphere

Hi,

I’m having a really hard time trying to put a texture in only one part of a sphere.
I have a sphere representing the earth and a texture for a part of the globe, say for clouds over USA.
I want to show those clouds over the part of the sphere where USA are.

I’m quite new with OpenGL so maybe the solution to my problem is quite simple, but I really could not find anything browsing the web.
I’m creating my sphere drawing a set of triangle strips.
As far as I understand, if I want to use a texture I need to specify a texture coord for each vertex (glTexCoord2*). But I do not have a valid texture for all of them.
So how do I tell OpenGL to skip texture for those vertexes?

Thanks in advance for your help

One way you could do it is render a sphere with just the Earth texture, then render an overlying group of triangles with a cloud texture wherever you want clouds. As long as the cloud texture has an alpha channel (some level of transparency), which I think doesn’t require any extra OpenGL code, you should be fine.

Thanks fiodis for your reply.

my case is a bit more general. My sphere (the earth) comes with a topography. My texture, can be also a terrain texture (of a part of the globe).
If I create a new object from the new texture, I would not have the topography information for that object, or I would need to get it from the part of the earth the texture should go on top to. It seems to me extra work, it would be much simpler if there would be a way to apply the texture to only a part of the sphere.

In that case you could look into OpenGL blending functions (mentioned here and here, among other places) if you’re using pre-OpenGL 3.0 code, or alternatively you could try to write your own shaders using GLSL that blend textures.

ok,

thank you very much for the references

I’ve been working on this problem too recently. I’ve come up with a couple of approaches.