new to openGL simple question

I am studying a book and one statement is creating confusion for me for some time:
“OpenGL is really a hardware-independent specification of a programming
interface, and you use a particular implementation of it on a particular kind
of hardware.”

If OpenGL is hardware independent than why do we need different implementations for particular kind of hardware. This appears to be a contradiction to me. Could you kindly enlighten me on this?

The specification is hardware-independent, but different hardware is allowed to implement the specification in different ways. OpenGL doesn’t specify how it’s implemented, just what the final behaviour should be.

The OpenGL specification is like giving someone directions on how to get somewhere. The implementation of the specification is them taking a Ford Focus to get there. You didn’t ask them to take that specific car; any car could follow your directions. They could have taken a truck or even walked.

The directions are independent of how you intend to travel. Just as the OpenGL specification is independent of the hardware that it is implemented on. Many different vehicles can follow the same directions, just as many different pieces of hardware can implement the same OpenGL specification.

Actually my confusion is still not resolved. What I understand is that different implementations of OpenGL can have the functions with different names and parameters that do the same thing? We have OpenGL Implentation for iPhones and other devices but due to the limitation of hardware capability the things that PC can do the iPhone Graphics Hardware cannot do. This is precisely what leads to the confusion.

Thus could you kindly differentiate between “Open GL specification” and “OpenGL Implemenation”. What is the simple definition of a OpenGL specification?

The specification is the interface of the library.
Is this huge pdf http://www.opengl.org/registry/doc/glspec42.core.20120427.pdf