OpenGL vertex arrays in C#

I’m a somewhat new C# programmer who’s just come across OpenGL and is trying to write a program to display and edit 3D terrain. I’m using SharpGL as an OpenGL wrapper; so far I’ve succeeded in following the more basic tutorials (glBegin/glEnd, gl.TRIANGLESTRIP, basic lighting, camera, etc.) but I’m having trouble when it comes to understanding vertex arrays. Part of this, I’m sure, is my having difficulty translating C++ to C#, but I’m also unclear on how glVertexPointer actually works; and the OpenGL wiki article, as well as Google searches for “Vertex Array tutorial”, haven’t cleared it up for me. If anyone could answer some basic questions for me, I would be very grateful.

As I understand it, it’s
glVertexPointer(# of components to each vertex, GL_FLOAT, something called a stride, array with vertex data);

I’m not sure what a GL_FLOAT is; Google searches suggest it’s just a float, and that it has a special name due to some peculiarity of C++. Or maybe it’s an array of floats?

The stride I don’t understand very well at all. Tutorials say it’s only used when vertex data is not tightly packed; what does “tightly packed” mean and how does stride relate to the vertex data? Does it have to do with array indices?

Even the last bit gives me trouble. :frowning: Fortunately my question is a lot simpler: what is the best way to store that vertex data? In a multi-dimensional array with a syntax like vertices[128,3] for 128 vertices with 3 coords each, or a jagged array (an array-of-arrays) like vertices[][], or just as a single array, vertices[], with the vertices’ xyz coordinates just strung out one after the other, like {x1, y1, z1, x2, y2, z2}?

Do you have to have every single vertex in your 3D world contained in one large, messy array, or can you have multiple glVertexPointers and only use glDrawElements with specific ones?