Code examples of ambient occlusion techniques?

Hello, everyone. I’m very inexperienced in OpenGL and graphics programming in general but I am trying to do an implementation of horizon-based ambient occlusion. The problem is that I don’t know how to use or copy the depth buffer to a texture, send that texture to the fragment shader, or access textures in the fragment shader. I am using C/C++.

Can anybody point me to a good piece of sample code that shows this sort of thing being done? Something where the code is understandable and relatively straightforward in implementation? If not that, is there any good book or other source that clearly explains these things to total novices such as myself?

If anybody could help, I would be most grateful!

Use a framebuffer object with a depth texture attached.
plenty of examples on the net.

Thanks for responding. Once I find code that does that, where does it go in the program? I know it it slow, but I understand immediate mode in OpenGL. If I were using that, would I make the texture right after the glEnd() call but before I swap buffers?

Also, how would I send it to the fragment shader?

people don’t help here they just give you hints and tips and ones in a while an actual solution its a load of bullshit but hey thats how its been put onto me so I just decide to get away from it and try another way

people don’t help here they just give you hints and tips

I’ve never seen anyone “helped” by being given code that they can copy and paste directly into their application.

And if you don’t like this place so much, why are you still here?

people don’t help here they just give you hints and tips and ones in a while an actual solution its a load of bullshit but hey thats how its been put onto me so I just decide to get away from it and try another way