Optimum 3D modelling graphics format (Questions)

I’m looking to developing an application with OpenGL (yet I have no experience).
From my understanding OpenGL cannot directly read and open files such as .3ds, .x, .obj but with the programming language (C++ in my case) you pass the required data (vertices) to the API for it to render the model.
Should I use .x [to my knowledge it holds u,v data, vertex data, and holds animation data(maybe?) ]format? (I do modelling with Blender).
From reading the openGL specifications (3.3) I notice there is a lack of “animation functions”. My assumption is that to render animation the CPU (or GPU with OpenCL) updates the primitives animation frame (resulting in new vertex data) and is sent to the GL to render the new scene.
I am using Linux Ubuntu 11.10

OpenGL is a rendering library, just like Direct3D (any “animation functions” are part of D3DX, which is a separate, layered library on top of D3D). You give it meshes, it renders meshes. How you animate them is up to you.

So what graphics format I use does not matter as long as I am able to feed the GL vertices to render?

Yes, it does not matter which one you use. Some support the mesh + animation data (.3ds .dae[collada], .x, etc) while some just have mesh data (.obj, .ply, etc). You could go as far as to make your own mesh format if you want.

Use the assimp library (http://assimp.sourceforge.net). It helps with loading the data from file and supports many formats. It works great.

Another aspect to think about. Some formats don’t support storing pre-optimized indexed triangles, which is probably the most efficient rendering format for general meshes. If you don’t want to have to “reoptimize” your meshes on load every time, that’s a factor to consider.

Also, some formats may not be general enough to support storing all the per-vertex attributes you might need, with the types you want. So you’ll want to look into that to ensure that they do.