Delay in open GL

Hi,

I am new to the open GL.i am facing problem in implementing delay.I am using open GL ES 1.0. What i am trying to do is to scale up an image and wait for few seconds and bring it to back to original one.But it is waiting for some time and doing both scale up and down simultaneously.Please help me in solving this .I used two for loops for implementing delay.Is there any function for delay or sleep in open GL ES 1.0.

What is the operating system? Look for OS specific time / timer functions.

Once you have a function that returns current time, you can do float size = std::sin(time()); or something / anything like that.

I guess it is not related operating system.Anyways i am using linux OS ,eclipse IDE and android SDK.code is like

scale up i.e glscalef()

sleep or wait

scaledown

so it has to display output with scaled image and then wait and then scaled down output…but actually what happening is it is waiting for some time and displays scaled up and scaled down outputs simulatenously with out any delay

Are you swapping back and front buffers before the delay?

No, i m not swapping front and back buffers before delay.If i have to,what is command for swapping buffers.

Usually, you draw in the back buffer. It will not be shown untill you swap the back buffer with the front buffer. Otherwise, the user would have seen when the sreen is cleared, and when various drawing operations are completed.

So if you draw in the back buffer, then delay, then draw some more, and then eventually swap the back buffer with the front buffer, then the user will not see any changes until the end.

I would recommend that use an algorithm as follows:

while(1) {
    switch(CurrentState()) {
    case NormalScale: DrawNormalScale(); break;
    case Enlarged: DrawLargeScale(); break;
    }
    SwapBackBuffer();
}