Multiply MVP matrices by a (0,0,0) point=(0,0,0)?

Hi OpenGL community. :slight_smile:

I’m fighting with matrices and just discover a point that I don’t understand. (As many, I’m a little new to matrix manipulation).

Even if my probkem is not directly related to OpenGL, I’m sure some advanced peoples here should have the answer to this.

I try to project a point to a camera to know his position in screen space.

I have a simple scene:

• A simple point in the center of the world (locator).
  • A camera looking at this point.

I create my mvpMatrix this way (pseudo code):

locatorMatrix = locator.getMatrix(worldSpace=True) # because my locator is (0,0,0), this is a simple default matrix here
camMatrix = myCam.getMatrix(worldSpace=True)
camProjMatrix = myCamShape.projectionMatrix()

mvpMatrix = locatorMatrix*camMatrix*camProjMatrix
result = mvpMatrix*locator.getTranslation(worldSpace=True)	# I multiply my "in the center of the world" point to my matrix

print result
[0.0, 0.0, 0.0]

This is actually not very surprising no? If if multiply a matrix by any (0,0,0) point, it should always return zero…

But of course my “in the center of the world” point is not at (0,0) in my camera… It is about (0.5, 0.5). This is the point I don’t understand. I’ve done some search on internet to know how do this.

I suppose I’ve miss something.

I would really be very grateful if someone just point me where my error is… :frowning:

Have a good day all and thanks in advance! :wink:

mvpMatrix = locatorMatrixcamMatrixcamProjMatrix

The answer lies in how you are handling the Matricies. Column ordered or Row ordered? OpenGL, by default, uses the Column ordering convention where as DirectX uses Row ordering. So if you have been using the internet to look at this, you may find you have been doing only 1/2 a job as many article assume DirectX convention.