Which book to buy??

Hello. I have been using glut for a while and would like to get to OpenGL 3.1. Which book?? OpenGL primer third was my choice but it might focus on glut or 2.1. I am a absolute beginner. Please help

Why 3.1 specifically? What’s wrong with 3.3?

In any case, the popular choice is the OpenGL Superbible, fifth edition. Personally, I think it has some flaws to it. Of course, I’m currently writing an alternative that you can read in my signature. Which is free.

So you might be able to save some money for the time being.

that one uses glut.
I have read the first few chapters on vectors and what opengl is. Very nice book.

Yes anything more than 3 is fine.

What is it about GLUT that bothers people? If you’re trying to learn how to use OpenGL, learning how to create HWNDs/X-Windows windows/etc is not helping. Learning how to process window messages and get basic input is not helping to learn OpenGL. It’d be like prefacing a book on OpenGL with “here’s how to program in C++!”

GLUT is used here to abstract away the non-OpenGL parts, so that the text can focus on, you know, OpenGL. The whole point of the book. Cross-platform bits only get in the way.

I also recommend the Superbible. You will thoroughly get the opportunity to understand the OpenGL3+ way to do it.

You can see here and there that it was originally based on the immediate mode, and then adapted for the shader technology. For example, you won’t see much about shaders until the advanced chapters. I think this is a small problem, I learnt a lot reading the book.

I know glut. I dont need to learn it twice.

Then I’d suggest that, rather than trying to learn two new things at once (and not being certain of which one of them you screwed up if you have problems) that you learn how to use the version of OpenGL you currently know with your platform-native code of choice. Once you have that you can move on to GL 3+.