total newb problems with texturing

hey guys, I’m writing a beginner program which uses an ADT to draw a textured polygon in a 2d plane, but whenever i try to draw, the texture appears as pure black.

I’ve been searching for a few hours and i can’t figure out what my problem is, nor any hints from people having had a similar problem. As far as i can tell i’m loading and using the texture correctly, but perhaps there is something i’ve missed.

the most important parts should be that i do
these things
in order

my texture is 128x128 pixels and the vertex/uv arrays are squares between -0.5 and 0.5

here is my code in more detail:
my ADT

loadBMP function

drawModel function

my shaders

nb: i am using a slightly unorthodox shader where positions are vec2 to use bandwidth more efficiently, since everything is drawn in a 2d plane with z = 0, this shouldn’t really affect anything substantial

http://www.opengl.org/wiki/Common_Mistakes#Creating_a_Texture
Looks like you forgot to generate the mipmaps for your texture,

try calling this when texture is loaded :
glGenerateMipmap(GL_TEXTURE_2D); //Generate mipmaps now!!!

I put that line in, but nothing changed. I also added in all the relevant glTexParameteri and preceeded it with glenable(GL_TEXTURE_2D).

the wiki page states that glgeneratemipmap has no effect on some ATI drivers(i have an an ATI), but I’ve had success texturing things before, so i think that is probably not the issue.

Have you tried disabling mipmaps, to be sure ? GL_LINEAR for GL_MIN

yep, to no avail=[

What debugging steps have you done:

E.g. Have you tried outputting a solid colour instead of the texture - in the shader code. Just to check this works as expected.
Have you tried printing your texture coordinates to the screen/file to ensure they are valid.
Have you tried querying the GLSL attributes to check they have valid values - it they match the shader source code.
Have you double checked your texture loading is correct.