lighting the sun creating the problem

I am a newbie to opengl and this is my first post.I am trying to develop space simulator. I am trying to use sun as the light source My problem is that the lighting dosent work as expected. Maybe i am using the wrong calculation for the normals. I am using a single “createsphere” function to create a sphere, and then use different coordinates and sizes to display them. The problem is that all the sphere on the screen show almost the same effect. i.e the light rotates along with them. I am not sure where the problem is …i am posting my code …

void CreateSphere (double R, double X, double Y, double Z) {
    int n,m;
    double a;
    double b;
    n = 0;
	m = 0;
	//NORMALS* p = new NORMALS;

for( b = 0; b <= 90 - space; b+=space){

for( a = 0; a <= 360 - space; a+=space)
    {
        VERTEX[n].X = R * sin((a) / 180 * PI) * sin((b) / 180 * PI) - X;
        VERTEX[n].Y = R * cos((a) / 180 * PI) * sin((b) / 180 * PI) + Y;
        VERTEX[n].Z = R * cos((b) / 180 * PI) - Z;
        VERTEX[n].V = (2 * b) / 360;
        VERTEX[n].U = (a) / 360;

n++;
        VERTEX[n].X = R * sin((a) / 180 * PI) * sin((b + space) / 180 * PI) - X;
        VERTEX[n].Y = R * cos((a) / 180 * PI) * sin((b + space) / 180 * PI) + Y;
        VERTEX[n].Z = R * cos((b + space) / 180 * PI) - Z;
        VERTEX[n].V = (2 * (b + space)) / 360;
        VERTEX[n].U = (a) / 360;

n++;
        VERTEX[n].X = R * sin((a + space) / 180 * PI) * sin((b) / 180 * PI) - X;
        VERTEX[n].Y = R * cos((a + space) / 180 * PI) * sin((b) / 180 * PI) + Y;
        VERTEX[n].Z = R * cos((b) / 180 * PI) - Z;
        VERTEX[n].V = (2 * b) / 360;
        VERTEX[n].U = (a + space) / 360;

n++;

VERTEX[n].X = R * sin((a + space) / 180 * PI) * sin((b + space) /180 * PI) - X;
        VERTEX[n].Y = R * cos((a + space) / 180 * PI) * sin((b + space) /180 * PI) + Y;
        VERTEX[n].Z = R * cos((b + space) / 180 * PI) - Z;
        VERTEX[n].V = (2 * (b + space)) / 360;