Help with openGL and Maya...

Hello, experts.

I am new to openGL coding and I am a technical artist using Maya and 3dsMAX, this is my first time to venture into openGL coding after about 12 years into my career.

I am coding with Python and I am making special locators for Maya using Maya’s Python API with openGL.

The above picture shows a problem with transparency. The red cubes are the locators that I made using openGL.

Please read this:

1. the cone was created before the red cubes/locators.

2. the sphere and the grey cube was created after the red cubes/locators.

as you can see, it is not showing the lines when intersected with the red cubes/locators.

Below is basically my draw codes. I hope that it is not confusing.

###########################################################

view.beginGL()

glFT.glPushAttrib(OpenMayaRender.MGL_CURRENT_BIT)
	glFT.glPushAttrib(OpenMayaRender.MGL_ALL_ATTRIB_BITS)

glFT.glEnable(OpenMayaRender.MGL_BLEND)
glFT.glBlendFunc (OpenMayaRender.MGL_SRC_ALPHA, OpenMayaRender.MGL_ONE_MINUS_SRC_ALPHA)

#These are Maya specific status codes#
if status == OpenMayaUI.M3dView.kDormant:
glFT.glColor4f(color_RVal,color_GVal,color_BVal, 0.3)

if status == OpenMayaUI.M3dView.kLead:
glFT.glColor4f(0.0+color_RVal+.0,0.0+color_GVal+.0,0.0+color_BVal+.0, 0.4)

if status == OpenMayaUI.M3dView.kActive:
glFT.glColor4f(0.0+color_RVal+.3,0.0+color_GVal+.3,0.0+color_BVal+.3, 0.5)

#some openGL primitive codes are inserted here#

glFT.glLineWidth(widthVal)

glFT.glDisable(OpenMayaRender.MGL_BLEND)

glFT.glPopAttrib()
glFT.glPopAttrib()

view.endGL()

###########################################################

Thank you very much, I am trying to solve this on my own without any success. I hope that somebody more experienced in this can help me through. Rick

You have to draw your transparent polygons back-to-front by first sorting them according to the camera transform.

Hello, kind sir.