Using opengl for a intensive engineering charts

This is my first post here, so Hi everybody! My name is Ibrahim KAMAL, and i am an electronics engineer from France.

I have a beginner question that (i think) only an experienced OpenGL developer can answer!

In my company we are developping this Logic Analyzer, that connects to a PC and shows huge amount of charts describing electronics signals (for info: here is our product http://www.ikalogic.com/scanalogic2/index.php ). Uptill now, the software graphics part was developed using GDI+ under VB.NET. It’s fine but frustratingly slow (no matter how i tried to optimize).

I have started playing around with some OpenGL code under VB, and the results seems very promising for my application.

I know this question have been asked many times, but the answers i found were more “game” oriented. So what i am kindly asking you, is that i expose to your my strategy of using OpenGL, and hopefully you can tell me if i am going in the right direction (i don’t want to spend 2 weeks porting the software to opengl only to discover it wont work :slight_smile: )

What i need to do is basically show waveforms that will be completely static, and let the user zoom in, and translate it from right to left, etc… all basic manipulation you would expect…

The way i plan to do that is to build a couple of rather huge drawlists describing the waveforms to be displayed (apparently this is possible: http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=22369) and then simply apply translations and scaling according to user requirements.

Till now that seems quite realistic to me. does it seem realistic to you too given your experience?

Any mistakes or false assumptions i am making?

Thank you very much in advance.

That should work, until you hit the detail limit where you should start culling and selecting level of detail. How many vertices are there typically in each waveform?