zNear/zFar: how to do depth partitioning?

Hello Folks,

i’m pretty new to OpenGL and the engine i use saved me from getting into dirty details sofar… The problem i can’t solve is pretty classic and can be solved, but i would like to ask the skilled opengl programmers for exact command sequence to solve it.

Problem:
i have to render far away and very close objects. Moving zNear at required (very close) distance causes distant objects to flicker wild.

Solution:
depth buffer partitioning performing multipass rendering with different near/far settings and overlaying results. Basic process:

1. clear the context
  2. render background
  3. adjust near/far for distant objects
  4. apply projection
  5. render distant objects
  6. adjust near/far for close objects
  7. apply projection
  8. render close objects

I got the steps performed by the engine, but in the second pass all distant geometry is clipped away, the background is black and don’t show off. Ergo results of the first pass are overlayed and wasted totally. I would like to ask for detailed opengl command sequences to get bot rendering pass results overlayed properly.

Big thanks in advance
Paul

Hmm. Hard to tell what you’re doing wrong. Sounds like between steps 5 and 6 you’re clearing the color buffer or something. You should only be clearing the depth buffer here (and maybe stencil if you use it).

In step 1 you should clear the depth/stencil as well – and clear the color buffer here two if collectively your background, near, and far don’t set all pixels (or samples, if doing MSAA).

Also, the “near” of the far subfrustum should be the same as “far” of the near subfrustum. Just pick a split distance.

Is it possible to provide exact opengl function call sequence? I then recheck the call sequence in the engine and fix the problem then. Something like:

glEnable();
glEnable();
glFrustum();
drawFarGeometry();
glClear()
glDisable();
drawNearGeometry();