How to read and understand openGL coding?

Hello everyone,

I’m new to openGL, and I’m very confused when reading openGL source, specifically the transformation and process of mapping each coordinate into the window scene. So my question is, what approach do OpenGL programmers use to understand the code?

• Do I need to actually perform the matrix calculation part to figure out how glOrtho(), glFrustum(), gluPerspective()?
  • Or it will gradually becomes a second nature after a good amount of practice? Still, I don’t think this is going to work due to the fact that coordinates are actual numbers, I couldn’t find another way except performing the calculation, even drawing them in paper.
    Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

So my question is, what approach do OpenGL programmers use to understand the code?

They post their code at the forum and ask the community: how does it work? :slight_smile:

Just kidding! If you have problems with basic concepts I advice you to read some good book about legacy OpenGL, for example OpenGL Programming Guide (aka Red Book). After first three chapters you’ll grab the basic concepts and you can go further.

Don’t worry, you won’t need to multiply matrices manually to figure out which transformations and in which order they should be applied. If you get the concepts it is quite natural way of thinking. After all, you can execute your code and figure out if it works correctly. :wink:

So my question is, what approach do OpenGL programmers use to understand the code?

There are generally two approaches. The sadly common approach is the one you seem to be leaning towards: find the correct order to call the OpenGL functions in that will allow you to get a result not entirely unlike what you want. This one focuses on easy results early on, at the cost of doing a lot more “unlearning” later.