Mapping pixel colors without hardware

I’m new to OGL. The project I’m working on needs to support graphic cards that do not support shaders so I have to be able to detect this old hardware and render images accordingly - in particular the ability to modify the image’s color. For ex, I need to convert all red pixels of the image to a color chosen from a color chart. I believe I have the hardware detection worked out but I’m having trouble with rendering the color(s) of the image. I have tried color index mode with a color table without too much success. We are calling glDrawArrays() and I am wondering if that will need to be changed to glDrawPixels in this case. Any help or suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

You are on a up hill struggle right off the bat.
You need to determine exactly what is the base hardware to help you code up a solution. For example although glsl shaders are out what about support for ASM shaders?
Also arb_imaging may be an option depending upon the hardware.
Do you know the vendors at least? Eg Intel , AMD, nVidia?

I am new to this company and unfortunately, I do not know vendor specifics. Client hardware can vary. To detect whether hardware supports shader I basically query glGetString for GL_SHADING_LANGUAGE_VERSION if it returns null then assuming no shaders:

ver_str[0] = ‘/0’;
ver_str = (char*)glGetString(GL_SHADING_LANGUAGE_VERSION);
if(!ver_str)
m_bUseShader = false;

Also: What is ASM shaders and arb_imaging?

Thanks

ASM shaders was the previous generation of flexible programming for GPUs aimed at a much older generation of hardware.
Arb_imaging supports convolutions and histograms but is not usually supported in hardware.
In your case you need to think of a solution which would work with the fixed function pipeline.
The only thing I can think of is encoding a unique colour in a 3d texture storing Red along s axis, Green along t axis and Blue along r or depth