Choice for Toolkit

Hello everyones,

I am new to OpenGL and looking for a future project about choosing the correct toolkit that fits my needs.

I looked many already like :

• SDL
  • SFML
  • OpenTK (this one is really interesting)
  • Glut

But for example,

• SDL don’t permit to use OpenGL 4.1 and stop to 3.xx version
  • SFML doesn’t support OpenGL ES and mobiles devices
  • OpenTK looks great, it use OpenGL 4.1, got OpenGL ES but not fully supported for mobiles devices and need some maths improvements.
  • Glut really don’t fit for the project

Well, as you see, I need using latest OpenGL and be able to make my future game engine on Win, OSx, mobiles (iPhone, Android, …) and maybe consoles.

Some informations could be great.

Thanks a lot.

Even whitout the toolkit, I don’t see how you can write GL code to be 100% GL 4.1 and GLES compatible.
Dependance on the toolkit should be minimal, so having at least 2 distinct low level code, one for desktop, one for mobile, seem unavoidable.

OpenTK should be a great choice.

It use OpenGL 4.1 for systems who accept that version and automatically use the maximum version if using the toolkit on a mac , for example, OpenTK should work on 10.7. OpenGL support is determined at runtime: if you run OpenTK on a 2.1-capable system you’ll be able to use 2.1 methods (newer ones will throw an exception); if you run it on a 3.2-capable system you’ll be able to use 3.2 and so on.

Also accepting OpenGL ES.

Even whitout the toolkit, I don’t see how you can write GL code to be 100% GL 4.1 and GLES compatible.

Totally agree. Here are some specifics: