Z-Buffer Problem .. but how to solve it ?

hi all,

i read a lot about the z-buffer and now i understand why i get the ‘flimmering’ and the strang occurence of some objects, but … i can´t think of a solution …
first of all a screen of the distance objects showing the problem…

[ Image in Big ]

i am walking on ground in my game, in a hight of 2 … so zpos of ground below camera + 2 .
so i cant start the camera view smaller than 2 as i could see through the ground below my feet than … but for distance objects i get in trouble …

any idea … i know many games ( e.g. minecraft ) where the cliping beginns max 0.6 from the camara away and seems to have a very very far sight as well without flimmering …

can i get ride od the z-buffer problem by shaders ?

you see i am still new to open gl …

thanx a lot
uwi2k2

Multiple things could cause this.

First important thing is that it’s not how near your near clipping plane is that’s important; it’s the difference between your near plane and your far plane that really matters. Even if your near plane is set to a reasonable value (and 2 seems reasonable enough), if your far plane is huuuuuuuuuuuge you’ll still get bad precision. So as well as pushing your near plane out, pulling your far plane back will have the same remedial effect.

Second thing is that you might be getting a 16-bit depth buffer. This depends on how you’re initializing OpenGL, but the key point is that depth buffers commonly come in two varieties: 16-bit or 24-bit. On some hardware unless you explicitly ask for 24-bit you’ll get 16-bit. So to remedy this you should review your startup code and make sure that the depth buffer precision you’re getting actually is what you think it is.