View Full Version : Many bound textures performance question

04-15-2011, 01:35 AM

On my card I have 32 texture units. Would it influence performance if I had bound different textures to all texture units but then only used just some of them (like 2 - 3) in shader or should I unbind textures that are not used during single batch rendering. In other words - if a rendered object only requires 2 textures then only those two textures should be bound to render system during rendering?


04-15-2011, 03:43 AM
I don't think it adds any performance penalty by just having them bound.

04-15-2011, 05:45 AM
If you don't sample a texture from within your shader, then the texture samplers don't do anything.