Multiple indexed meshes in single VBO

Firstly, this is my first post on this forum so Hi All.
Secondly, I am new to opengl so please take this into consideration.

Now my question.

I would like to put mutiple indexed meshes into single VBO but the problem is - what to do with indices. Each mesh has it’s own indices but when all the meshes will be contained in a single buffer then the indices needs to be shifted by some offset. In DirectX I just used DrawIndexedPrimitive with proper settings ( providing index offset, which was added to all indices ).
Is there a way to provide opengl with index offset or do I have to recalculate indices manually after adding mesh to VBO or maybe I just don’t now something?

One more thing - I need to do this in gles2.

Thanks in advance

When setting up your vertex attribs with glVertexAttribPointer you pass the offset (in bytes!) into the buffer as the last parameter, see this tutorial for a similar example.
The tutorial stores different attributes (position and color) of one mesh in the same buffer, but the method is the same.

That was it:)

Thanks

Also, you can use glDrawElementsBaseVertex, in order to avoid moving the attribute offsets around.

I’ve been wondering the same thing too, whether it’s faster to set all the gl***Pointer functions before drawing with each mesh:

gl***Pointer(..., mesh[i].offset + mesh[i].attribute[j].offset); // for each attribute
glDrawRangeElements(..., NULL);
gl***Pointer(..., mesh[i].offset + mesh[i].attribute[j].offset);// for each attribute
glDrawRangeElements(..., NULL);

or whether it’d be better to adjust the indices as meshes are placed into a buffer object, getting rid of the need for gl***Pointer calls:

gl***Pointer(..., 0); // for each attribute
glDrawRangeElements(..., 0);
glDrawRangeElements(..., mesh[i].offset);

If you are prepared to limit to OpenGL 3.2+ (or GL_ARB_draw_elements_base_vertex), then you can provide a base vertex that is added to all the indices: