Implementing my own matrix and transformations...

Hi guys, I’m studying graphics programming at university at the moment, and some work I’ve been given is implementing my own transformations for rotating, translating and scaling.

It’s all been going quite well, I’m using homogeneous coordinates and glMultMatrix() to do everything, but now I’ve hit a problem. If I perform a rotation on x, y and z using glRotatef, it isn’t the same as doing a rotation on x, y and z using my rotateN functions. But if I perform the rotations on only one axis, then they function the same. I have no idea what I should do to debug this.

I’ll show the problem I’m having with an example.

glMultMatrixf(Mat4::translate(x, y, z).data);
	glMultMatrixf(Mat4::scale(0.5, 0.5, 0.5).data);

bool use_gl = true;

if (use_gl)
	{
		glRotatef(angle, 1, 1, 1);
		angle += elapsedTime * 100;
	}
	else
	{
		glMultMatrixf(Mat4::rotateX(angle).data);
		glMultMatrixf(Mat4::rotateY(angle).data);
		glMultMatrixf(Mat4::rotateZ(angle).data);
		angle += elapsedTime;
	}

glMultMatrixf(Mat4::translate(-x, -y, -z).data);

The code in the use_gl block doesn’t product the same output as the else block.

In case anyone’s wondering, the reason I’m increasing the angle by 100 times more in the use_gl block is that, for some reason, when I don’t do that, the rotation speeds are very different.

I’ve also notced that I can’t pass in a constant angle to my rotateN functions. So if I pass 45 as the angle to glRotatef, it’s not the same as passing 45 to glRotatef. The basic layout for my rotate functions is like so:

Mat4 Mat4::rotateZ(float degree)
{
	Mat4 result;

const float c = cos(degree);
	const float s = sin(degree);

result(0, 0) = c;
	result(1, 0) = -s;
	result(0, 1) = s;
	result(1, 1) = c;

return result;
}

And I can’t see why that wouldn’t let me rotate on the Z axis by 45 degrees.