Shape rotation issues

Ok, im a noob having fun experimenting with opengl for the first time over the past week or so. I’ve run into an issue with rotating shapes I cant seem to get around.

I’ve drawn a simple shape and want to rotate it around itself (i.e i want its ‘pivot point’ centered on the shape, in 3d program speak). When rotating my shape with,

float angle = 30;
glRotatef(angle,1.0f,0.0f,0.0f);

the shape flys around the screen in the x (instead of on the spot), and with a small function i created to +=10 to angle the shape eventually flys back to its original position and begins its journey again.

I followed some tute that said I have to use glTranslate to move to the point I wanted to rotate from, so I moved to the center of my object with

glTranslate(1.5f,-1.5f,-5.0f);

before drawing but this made little difference and my shape still rotates around this ‘invisible’ point ?

I know im missing something, probably small :slight_smile: any help ?
confused noob
thanks

Ok i’ve read another tute that states,“In order for your object to spin around an axis, it has to be designed AROUND that axis. You have to remember that the center of any object should be 0 on the X, 0 on the Y, and 0 on the Z.”

I kind of get that :slight_smile:

it then gave me some example code of a triangle,

glVertex3f( 0.0f, 1.0f, 0.0f);			
glVertex3f(-1.0f,-1.0f, 1.0f);			
glVertex3f( 1.0f,-1.0f, 1.0f);

which i used to replace my square, and everything worked great… i.e the triangle spun in place… so I assume its the WAY im drawing my square that’s screwing up my code

so can anyone tell me how I am drawing my square incorrectly in regards to the above comment and original problem ? i.e designing my square around the axis i want to spin it around ?

glVertex3f(1.0f, -1.0f, -5.0f);
glVertex3f(2.0f, -1.0f, -5.0f);
glVertex3f(2.0f, -2.0f, -5.0f);
glVertex3f(1.0f, -2.0f, -5.0f);

much thanks