OpenGL Book recommendation

I am a beginner and am going through the OLG spec. However, I would like to get a book and was wondering between the following.

1. The superBible - 5th edition
  2. The RedBook - 7th edition

Any recommendation?

Thanks

I don’t have a SuperBible newer than the 2nd edition, so I can’t give you a direct comparison of the two editions you mentioned. But I can tell you the Red Book 7th is a good choice. It has a good description of the foundations and builds up gradually.

SuperBible 5th says it focuses on OpenGL 3.3 CORE profile. So if you know you’re only targeting GL3.3+ and never want to use any of the older compatibility profile functionality, then you might consider this book. Learning real-time 3D without the built-in conveniences of the COMPATIBILITY profile is harder without some helper libraries. And if you are going to use helper libs, you might as well just use GL as that helper lib until you’re ready to go pure-core with your code. It’s well documented, and there are tons of tutorials out there on that.

Learning real-time 3D without the built-in conveniences of the COMPATIBILITY profile is harder without some helper libraries. And if you are going to use helper libs, you might as well just use GL as that helper lib until you’re ready to go pure-core with your code.

This isn’t true at all. The 5th Edition Superbible alone proves that, as well as the ever growing list of core-only OpenGL tutorials.

Writing core OpenGL code does not require rewriting anything in the compatibility profile. Learning core OpenGL does not require rewriting anything in the compatibility profile. You would need mesh loading code for either one if you intend to use complex meshes. You would need code to set up materials, whether it’s core GLSL shaders or compatibility fixed-function. You would need code to load textures. And so on.