how to create thread using openGL?

Hi all,

I want to create a function of task.
Eg. Pass value into array, compare the value inside the array
How I make it become a thread so that I can create multi-thread to run the function concurrently?

What function and array can I use here? I am new to openGL. Please advise… :smiley:

GL is only for rendering 3D scenes.
For threads, http://www.skycomputers.com/Software/threads/example03.html

Ya…But I try to utilize the benefits of openGL to do other simple calculation.

I just want to store bytes into array of openGL. Then, compare the value insides. I think this possible to be done in openGL right?

I just want to store bytes into array of openGL. Then, compare the value insides. I think this possible to be done in openGL right?

Yes, but why would you want to? OpenCL is designed for doing this kind of stuff; OpenGL is not.

Because I was restricted to the hardware support. OpenCL is not supported for my graphic card.
By the way, I search for a long time for the guidelines but still cant find the reference that I want. Can recommend some here? :stuck_out_tongue:

You want to write values into an OpenGL array?
I guess what you can do is write to the frame buffer or a render target (FBO).
I don’t know any tutorials that show how to use GL to use the GPU as a CPU.
I can suggest that you study GL and then you’ll know how to use it.

Ya…Definitely I need to study. But I just using a bit of openGL to do my tasks. So, I am not going to spend time to study completely. I just want to know which function can I use so that I can study on that. Tasks I am going to do are:

1. Pass bytes into array
  2. Compare bytes in the array
    For part 2, can the array in openGL compare like this for example:
    if(byte[0]==byte[4]){
    //
    } ?
  3. Then, pass bytes back to CPU

So, what kind of array I can use here?

Considering everything what you have said the solution could be something like this:

1. send your data as a texture to GPU