A little assistance needed with my code! Help!!

Hi everyone,

I am new to OpenGL and I am just working on my first little project, where I want to create a nice wave like motion of a series of ellipses (stack on one another), to try to simulate a sea weed. And here’s the code for that:

void display()
{
glPushMatrix();
glRotatef(0,0,0,1);
drawEllipse();
glTranslatef(0,0.6,0);
glRotatef(angle1,0,0,1);
drawEllipse();
glTranslatef(0,0.6,0);
glRotatef(angle1,0,0,1);
drawEllipse();
glTranslatef(0,0.6,0);
glRotatef(angle2,0,0,1);
drawEllipse();
glTranslatef(0,0.6,0);
glRotatef(angle2,0,0,1);
drawEllipse();
glTranslatef(0,0.6,0);
glRotatef(angle1,0,0,1);
drawEllipse();
glTranslatef(0,0.6,0);
glRotatef(angle3,0,0,1);
drawEllipse();
glTranslatef(0,0.6,0);
glRotatef(angle3,0,0,1);
drawEllipse();
glTranslatef(0,0.6,0);
glRotatef(0,0,0,1);
drawEllipse();
glPopMatrix();

}

void idleCB(void)
{

if( g_animate == 1 )
{

if( g_recording == 0 )
		g_time = g_timer.GetElapsedTime() ;
	else
		g_time += 0.033 ; // save at 30 frames per second.

cout << "current time: " << g_time << endl;

angle = 5*sin(g_time);
	angle1 = 5*sin(g_time);
	angle2 = 10*sin(g_time*1.5);
	angle3 = 15*sin(g_time*2);

glutPostRedisplay() ; 

}

}

Here, g_time is a time step. Every time the display function gets called, the glRotatef() takes in small increments of a function of g_time which is defined inside the idleCB function as a form of a sine function.

This kind of gives me the feel I want to see but still does not compeltely replicate the sinusoidal motion. Can anyone give me better ideas?

I have been working on this for hours at a stretch and my brain has literally stopped functioning. No matter which way I try, it won’t work. Please some body with a smarter idea, HELP ME!!!

Thanks much!

when computing your angle variables you need to add an offset (0<= offset <= 2*PI) to g_time, not multiply g_time with a factor.