Best way to manipulate textures

Hello.

I’m new to this, I can’t figure out which is the best way I could achieve.
I’ve been using SDL so far and I find it slow, so I’m moving my graphic part to OpenGL. The game is completely 2D and I’ve disabled depth buffer and I’m using glOrtho().
I’ve loaded my images (textures) successfully into OpenGL and draw them on the screen. using GL_Quads and vertexes.

I’m a pixel-freak, I used to get pixels from my SDL_Surfaces and replace them AND I used to draw primitives (circles, boxes or any polygon) onto these surfaces.

Which way is faster and more standard:

1. After loading my SDL_Surface into OpenGL texture, I keep the SDL_Surface, when a pixel-replacement/draw-shapes is needed, I do it on the SDL_Surface, then I replace the OpenGL texture with the new SDL_Surface?

2. I do all the changes directly on the OpenGL texture? (Delete SDL_Surface after it is loaded in the OpenGL texture)

If it is the second, could you please show me how to pixel-manipulate/draw-shapes on OpenGL texture?

I load SDL_Surface onto OpenGL like this:

GLuint texture;
    glGenTextures(1, &texture);
    glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, texture);
    glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_MAG_FILTER, GL_LINEAR);
    glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_MIN_FILTER, GL_LINEAR);
    glTexImage2D(GL_TEXTURE_2D, 0, SDLImage->format->BytesPerPixel, SDLImage->w,
    SDLImage->h, 0, GL_RGBA, GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE,
    SDLImage->pixels);

Can’t you just draw everything with OpenGL and forget sdl?
You may find you won’t need to draw to a texture and your performance should increase as a result

I’d love to forget about SDL :slight_smile:
I have events happening in the game which alters the game textures. That’s kinda my whole game concept. I can’t skip that.

Is it really that expensive modifying a texture in OpenGL? If it is, then I guess I HAVE TO have a copy of the texture in SDL so that I alter the SDL version and update the OpenGL one with the result.