3D shapes with stippled edges when hidden

Hi guys,

I’m new to OpenGL. I’ve read tutorials and stuff and I think I understand some stuff already, but there’s one thing I have no clue how to do.

What I want to do is draw a 3D shape, let’s say a cube. The desired behavior would be to draw only its edges, with the “hidden” edges being drawn as stippled lines, and the non-hidden edges being drawn with full (normal) lines.

Is there a simple way to do that, i.e. a way without me having to compute what parts of the cube are hidden or not?

For now, I do:

// allows blending
glEnable (GL_BLEND);
glBlendFunc (GL_SRC_ALPHA, GL_ONE_MINUS_SRC_ALPHA);

// draw the cube
glColor4f(1.0, 1.0, 0.0, 0.3);
glPolygonMode(GL_FRONT_AND_BACK, GL_FILL);
drawQuad();

// draw the wireframe of the cube
glPolygonMode(GL_FRONT_AND_BACK, GL_LINE);
glEnable(GL_LINE_STIPPLE);
glLineStipple(1, 50000);
drawQuad();

And the drawQuad method:

void drawQuad() {

float w = 1.0f;
   float h = 1.0f;
   float d = 2.0f;

glBegin(GL_QUADS);
	   glVertex3f(0,0,0);
	   glVertex3f(w,0,0);
	   glVertex3f(w,h,0);
	   glVertex3f(0,h,0);
   glEnd();
//   glColor3f (1.0, 1.0, 0.5);
   glBegin(GL_QUADS);
	   glVertex3f(0,h,0);
	   glVertex3f(w,h,0);
	   glVertex3f(w,h,d);
	   glVertex3f(0,h,d);
   glEnd();
//   glColor3f (1.0, 1.0, 0.0);
   glBegin(GL_QUADS);
	   glVertex3f(0,0,d);
	   glVertex3f(w,0,d);
	   glVertex3f(w,h,d);
	   glVertex3f(0,h,d);
   glEnd();
//   glColor3f (1.0, 0.5, 0.0);
   glBegin(GL_QUADS);
	   glVertex3f(0,0,0);
	   glVertex3f(w,0,0);
	   glVertex3f(w,0,d);
	   glVertex3f(0,0,d);
   glEnd();
//   glColor3f (1.0, 0.0, 0.0);
   glBegin(GL_QUADS);
   	   glVertex3f(w,0,0);
   	   glVertex3f(w,0,d);
   	   glVertex3f(w,h,d);
   	   glVertex3f(w,h,0);
   glEnd();
//   glColor3f (0.5, 0.0, 0.0);
   glBegin(GL_QUADS);
	   glVertex3f(0,0,0);
	   glVertex3f(0,0,d);
	   glVertex3f(0,h,d);
	   glVertex3f(0,h,0);
   glEnd();

}