OpenGL 1.4 for general purpose programming

Hi everyone,

I had an GPU, mobile Intel® 945 Express Chipset Family supported with OpenGL version 1.4

May I know is it possible to use it to program GPU for general purpose?

I want to use it to do packet filtering for networking.
What should I do and how?

I am new to OpenGL. Anyone know this?

This is my final year project title. Help is very very appreciated. :smiley:

If you think about GPGPU or how it is called nowadays - GPU computing, I’m very sorry but you have to forget it with any Intel’s GPU.

You don’t need OpenGL for that, but preferably some other API, like CUDA or OpenCL. For CUDA you need NVIDIA GPU (at least 8xxx), but OpenCL can work on both NVIDIA and AMD/ATI GPUs (SM4+).

The alternative is to use D3D. You won’t get DirectCompute on that Intel, but it does support the full SM2 feature set (vertex shaders emulated in software and pixel shaders in hardware) so you’ll be able to do a lot of stuff on the GPU with it (and also scale up to more powerful hardware).

The Intel 945 is a very strong performer with D3D by the way, easily in the same class as a GeForce 5xxx/6xxx (it just completely sucks at OpenGL).

Do you mean GPU computing can be done on Intel GPU also? I google this toptic very long already. But very hard to find a solution.what is D3D?Can briefly explain?I need it to do my packet filtering which is for general purpose, not for graphic performance…

If you think about GPGPU or how it is called nowadays - GPU computing, I’m very sorry but you have to forget it with any Intel’s GPU.

You don’t need OpenGL for that, but preferably some other API, like CUDA or OpenCL. For CUDA you need NVIDIA GPU (at least 8xxx), but OpenCL can work on both NVIDIA and AMD/ATI GPUs (SM4+). [/QUOTE]